About the farm

Oberhaushof farm seen from above
Picture: Joel Schneider

The historic Oberhaushof farm includes the Oberhaus (1743), the “Trotte” building (1719), a barn (1893), a former wash house, a boat house and some smaller farm buildings. The double rooms and the studios of the B&B Oberhaushof are located on the two lower floors of the Oberhaus, the holiday maisonette occupies the annex of the “Trotte” building. The land belonging to the farm extends from the street down to the lake and a small forest on the lakeshore.

Recreation areas

terrace with large parasol in front of the wash house
Picture: Yaser Amachi

In addition to their private rooms, our guests have access to a number of recreation areas, for example the loggia balcony facing south on the first floor of the Oberhaus or the terrace in front of the wash house. Both of them offer a phantastic view on the lake and the Glarus alps.


The farm has always been owned by the Bühler family. Today, the farming is done by tenants.

room with tiled stove, built-in buffet and various old objects
Picture: Martin Zeller

Above the two floors occupied by the bed & breakfast, the Oberhaus houses an exhibition with numerous objects and documents from the farm’s history. Our guests can also immerse themselves in history in their rooms: much of the furnishings are part of the historic stocks of the house.

For further information on the exhibition, feel free to approach us. We also recommend you visit the website ausstellungoberhaushof.ch.